Call blocking comes in handy when persistent telemarketers (or cheating ex) keeps on giving you a buzz. But have you ever wondered what happens when you block a number on your iPhone?
All iPhone models are capable of blocking numbers. When you block someone’s number, they can’t reach you via call or text. You know on your end what happens if you block a number, but what about on the blocked number’s end?
What Happens When You Block a Number on iPhone?
If the blocked number tries to send you an SMS or iMessage, it won’t go through so you can’t see it. The blocked number won’t see the “delivered” sign underneath the message.
If the blocked number tries to call your number, it will ring once and then get diverted to voicemail. If it does leave a voice message, you can still access it via the Phone app > Voicemail > Blocked Messages. However, you won’t be notified of the voice message.
How to Call Someone Who Blocked Your Number
Now, if you’re kind of confused whether or not the blocked number can still call you, yes it can. By blocking your caller ID, this prevents your name and phone number from being shown on the receiver’s screen whenever you make a call. There are two ways to do it.
First, you can dial *67 followed by your 10-digit number (including the area code) before hitting the call button. Most mobile carriers in the United States and Canada offer this feature on a per-call basis.
Second, you can dial #31# followed by your 10-digit number (including the area code) before hitting the call button. This works in some mobile carriers in the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and GSM phones in Europe.
Note that several countries have specific blocking code available for landline and cell phone users. In the United Kingdom, dial 141 followed by your 10-digit number (including the area code). In Australia, dial 1831 followed by your 10-digit number (including the area code). If you don’t know the magic number in your country, you can find try to find it on your mobile carrier’s website.
If you want to permanently block your caller ID, it’s so easy to configure. Just go to your iPhone’s Settings > Phone > Show My Caller ID > switch off the toggle. Note that some mobile carriers disable this feature so you might not be able to toggle it off. Also, Verizon users have to visit the network’s website to change this setting. Alternatively, you can look for third-party caller ID blocker apps on the App Store.
Now you know what happens when you block a number on iPhone. If you still have questions not addressed in this article, feel free to leave them in the comments!