What Does Reset Network Settings Do on iPhone?

What Does Reset Network Settings Do on iPhone?

I’m pretty sure you’ve come across the term Restore Network Settings on your iPhone, and you’re not entirely sure what it is and what it’s for. Reset Network Settings comes in very handy for many iOS problems. But what does Reset Network Settings do on iPhone exactly?

 

What Does Reset Network Settings Do on iPhone?

Reset Network Settings simply brings back everything about a network to the original factory settings. It’s one way to start from scratch which makes it a great way to fix or repair so many network-related problems with your iPhone, including instances when you see No Service or Searching on your cellular network or data, or when you can’t connect to a Wi-Fi network. As mentioned, doing Reset Network Settings will refresh your device’s network-related functionalities; it will delete all of your Wi-Fi networks and passwords, cellular settings, VPN and APN settings, and even Bluetooth settings so it must be your last resort.

 

When to Reset Network Settings on iPhone

Now that you know what Reset Network Settings means. Let’s get to know when you should use it. You should only perform Reset Network Settings on your iPhone when:

  • Cell network shows No Service or Searching
  • Cell network is in coverage but can’t send text messages or make calls
  • Cell data is in coverage but won’t connect
  • Wi-Fi won’t connect
  • Wi-Fi is connected but the internet won’t connect
  • When iPhone couldn’t be synced because of a network or connection error

Before you do Reset Network Settings on your iPhone because your Wi-Fi isn’t working, try the following solutions:

  • Make sure you’re within the router’s range
  • Make sure cables and connections are properly plugged
  • Restart your iPhone, router, cable, or DSL modem

Before you do Reset Network Settings on your iPhone because your cellular network or data isn’t working, try the following solutions:

  • Check your network coverage area
  • Restart your iPhone
  • Check for a carrier settings update
  • Remove SIM card and put it back in
  • Update iOS version

 

How to Reset Network Settings on iPhone

If you can’t seem to fix any network-related problems, here are steps on how to reset network settings on iPhone:

Step 1: Open the Settings app on your iPhone.

Step 2: Scroll down and tap General.

Step 3: Scroll down and tap Reset.

Step 4: Tap Reset Network Settings.

Step 5: Enter your 6-digit passcode, if enabled.

 

Conclusion

That is how you reset network settings. Hope we’re pretty clear what it is about and what it is for. Again, if you’ve encountered network-related issues with your iPhone, be sure to perform other solutions first before performing Reset Network Settings.

Do you still have questions? Make sure to leave them in the comments section below!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.