“Untrusted Enterprise Developer” message on iPhone: How to Fix it

Tutorials
July 9, 2017

If you’re trying to install apps from third-party sources other than the official App Store and getting this “Untrusted Enterprise Developer” message, you have no idea what this message is and how to get rid of it, then this article will show you everything you need to know.

If you notice, I’ve written about many apps from outside of the App Store such as screen recorder apps like AirShou, Vidyo, or app markets like vShare and Tutu Helper.

They all have one thing in common: after you install these apps, you’ll need to trust the developer before using. Otherwise, the “Untrusted Enterprise Developer” message will show up and the apps cannot be used until you take action.

Untrusted Enterprise Developer

Why do I have to trust the developer?

Well, since these apps are from third-party sources (you install them via Safari or Xcode/Cydia Impactor), not from the App Store, Apple cannot take control of them.

That’s why when you open the apps for the first time, they show you this message. They want to make sure that you know what you are doing. If you believe the app will not negatively affect your device, then you can trust the developer yourself and take responsibility for doing that.

Making “Untrusted Developer” become “Trusted Developer” on your iPhone is pretty simple. I will be showing you how to do that in the next part.

How to Trust “Untrusted Enterprise Developer” on iPhone

Previously in iOS 8, the “Untrusted Enterprise Developer” message also came along with the option to trust right from the message pop-up. But with iOS 9 and higher, you have to go the Settings app and find the app profile. Here are the instructions:

  1. Go to Settings > General > Profile & Device Management
  2. Under the ENTERPRISE APP section, you can find the app profile that belongs to the app you’ve installed.
  3. Once found it, open the profile, tap on the Trust button, and one more time to confirm.
  4. Now you can return to the Home screen and launch the app.

Note: If there is no Trust button in the profile page and you find a new Verify button instead, it’s likely that the app’s certificate has expired. In this situation, the Verify button will not work and you have to reinstall the app to get it working again.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply