How to Turn Off iOS Update and Stop Notifications

Do you find the iOS update notification annoying !?!

If yes, then you’re in the right place. In this article, I will be showing you two ways to turn off iOS update feature and stop your device from showing update notifications reminders ever again.

iOS-software-update-reminder

Don’t know what’s going on here?

Well, if you’re an iOS user, then you know that iOS can check and download updates automatically (OTA). Once downloaded, you will be asked to install the update constantly, like in the image above, until you select to update.

But the thing is, not everyone always wants to upgrade to a new firmware version. They find that the current firmware is stable and good enough so they don’t want to go anywhere else.

On the other hand, Apple always wants their users to experience the newest technology. Therefore, unfortunately, there is no option in the Settings app that allows users to turn off the automatic software update feature.

Method 1: Install the tvOS configuration profile

Step 1: Removing the downloaded update.

If your device has downloaded the new update, this step shows you how to remove it. Go to Settings > General > Storage & iCloud Usage > Manage Storage

Now look for the iOS update, tap on it and then tap Delete Update to remove it.

Delete the downloaded iOS update

Step 2: Installing the tvOS profile

Open Safari and access this URL: http://hikay.github.io/app/NOOTA.mobileconfig

Just follow the instructions to install the configuration profile. If prompted for your passcode, enter it. Once the profile is installed successfully, you will be asked to restart your device; tap on the Restart button.

Install the tvOS configuration profile

That’s it, you’ve prevented your device from getting new updates completely. Now you can go to Settings > General > Software Update to see the result.

Software update status

As you can see, despite the fact that there is a new update available for downloading, the result is still “Your software is up to date”.

The configuration profile is cryptographically signed by Apple, therefore, can be trusted. Other than adding a “Feedback” icon that you can dump into any folder at any time (it cannot be removed), this configuration profile does not negatively affect your iPhone’s performance or battery life.

Whenever you feel bored and want to install new updates, just go to Settings > General > Profile & Management and delete the configuration profile tvOS 10. And you’re good to go.

Step 3: Removing badge “1” (Optional)

The “1” badge on Settings app icon still persists. So if you want to remove it, follow steps below:

(1) Turn off Find my iPhone on your device from Settings > iCloud > Find my iPhone.

(2) Plug your iOS device into your Mac or PC and open iTunes.

(3) Go to your device’s page in iTunes and take a backup of your data to your computer.

Backup-iphone-data

(4) Download and install iBackupBot on your computer [click here to download]. Once installed, launch the app while the device is still connected.

(5) Notice the sidebar section on the left. It allows you to navigate to any file and folder within the backup.

Go to /System Files/Home Domain/Library/Preferences and look for the file named come.apple.Preferences.plist, then double-click to open and modify it.

  • Change the value of <key>kBadgedForSoftwareUpdateKey</key> from <true/> to <false/>
  • Change the value of <key>kBadgedForSoftwareUpdateJumpOnceKey</key> from <true/> to <false/>

Once done, save and close the window.

(6) With the file com.apple.Preferences.plist selected, click the Restore button in the toolbar. When prompted, untick the third option, only tick “Don’t copy backup” and ”Reboot device after restore (Recommended)”. Then click OK. Your device will now reboot.

(7) Similarly, now navigate to /System Files/Home Domain/Library/BackBoard and open the file named applicationState.plist.

Find the entry <key>SBApplicationBadgeKey</key> then change the value of the entry from <integer>1</integer> into <integer>0</integer>

(8) Select the applicationState.plist file and click Restore in the toolbar. Also, untick the third option and only tick “Don’t copy backup” and ”Reboot device after restore (Recommended)”. Then click OK.

If everything goes well, the “1” badge should disappear. If it is still there, try restoring the applicationState.plist file (8) again.

If you get Error 37 during the process, then you forgot to turn off Find my iPhone, so make sure you do that and try again.

Why it works

iPhone checks whether a new iOS update is available through a special XML document at mesu.apple.com. This configuration profile redirects the check to only look for beta updates available for the Apple TV. Since your iPhone is not an Apple TV, the redirected catalog check will make your device “believe” iOS is up-to-date.

Also read: How to Actually Hide Photos and Videos on iPhone

Method 2: Block the iOS Update servers

This method is a bit more complicated as you will have to block the Apple Software Update Domains through your Wi-Fi router settings.

The process varies depending on the router. But typically, if you know how to open the router’s web-based interface, just find the domain blocking functionality (its name is something like “Domain Blocking” or “Domain Block”), and enter these two domains:

  • appldnld.apple.com
  • mesu.apple.com

Save the settings and now you will no longer be able to download updates. If you’ve already downloaded the new update, then you can follow step 1 and step 3 in method 1 to remove the update and the “1” badge.

The limitation of this method is that when you use Wi-Fi networks that you do not have control of, your device may check and download the update again. So it is wiser not to use this method if you often connect to different Wi-Fi networks.

1 thought on “How to Turn Off iOS Update and Stop Notifications

  1. ibackupbot wont work i have tried numerious times and it wont restore and when you try and restore from itunes the restore is corrupt.

Leave a Comment