How to reset your iPhone

Tutorials
October 20, 2016

When it comes to resetting an iOS device, there are two different types of reset operations that you can use, depending on your purpose: the hart reset and the soft reset. In this guide, I’ll show you when to use these two methods and of course, how to use them to reset your device properly.

1. How to Soft reset your iPhone

You can think of the soft reset as a special way to restart the device. So it won’t affect any of your data at all. In fact, this act is a bit more complex than turning the device off and turning it on again.

The soft reset is used if some apps are crashing or aren’t responding properly. And not just for apps, if you encounter issues with important functions like can’t shut down the device by using the Power button, continuous rebooting, device crashing, can’t make or receive calls, or keypad doesn’t respond…, then performing a soft reset can possibly help you out.

For iPhone 7 owners: Since the Home button on iPhone 7 isn’t a mechanical button anymore, performing hard resets, entering recovery, and entering into DFU mode no longer works the same way on iPhone 7. Therefore, owners of iPhone 7 should consider all mentions of the Home button in the below steps to indicate when the lower volume button should be held down instead.

To perform a soft reset, follow these steps:

  • Press and hold the Home button and the Power button simultaneously for at least 10 seconds. When the Apple logo appears, you can release both buttons.
  • Now the device will reboot and after a while (30 to 45 seconds), it will go back to the home screen.

2. How to Hard reset your iPhone

We also call it the factory reset because when you perform this method, the device will be reset to its factory settings. The process will remove all your data and settings on your device, making it as fresh as possible. So if you have important information stored on there such as photos, notes, app data, messages…, then you should take a backup using iTunes or iCloud before proceeding.

Here is how to do it:

  • Open Settings and navigate to Settings > General > Reset (The reset button is located at the bottom)
  • Tap on “Erase All Contents and Settings
  • If you are using passcode for the Lock screen, you will need to enter it
  • Tap “Erase iPhone” to confirm the reset
  • The process will start restoring your device to its original factory state. Once it is done, all of your data will be gone. Now you can set it up as a new device or restore data from the backup made before.

Hard Reset iPhone

3. How to Reset your iPhone if you forget the passcode

In case you forget your iPhone’s passcode or it is disabled after you enter incorrectly the passcode too many times (“iPhone is disabled. Connect to iTunes”), you’ll need to reset your device using iTunes. Because now you cannot access your device and perform a hard reset like I’ve shown you above.

If you are wondering if there is a way to bypass the passcode and regain access to the device, then I’m sorry, it’s impossible, even if you do have the username and password of the account signed into iCloud.

To reset your device (also known as “restore”), follow these steps:

  • Connect your iPhone to your computer via a cable
  • Launch iTunes on your computer
  • When iTunes detects the device, click on the device icon and select the Summary tab.Restore iPhone
  • Click on the “Restore iPhone…” button.
  • Click Restore, iTunes will then start restoring the device.

Using Find my iPhone

How to reset iPhone using Find My iPhone

If you have already enabled Find my iPhone on your device, then there is another method to get things done quickly. It is also helpful if your device has been lost or stolen and you want to remotely delete everything on it.

  • Visit the Find My iPhone page using your web browser and sign in with your iCloud account, which is currently logged in on the iPhone. You can also use the Find My iPhone app on another iOS device to do this.
  • Click All Devices at the top and select your device.
  • You’ll see an information box appears at the upper right corner of the page. Click Erase iPhone (iPad), this will remotely erase your device.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply